We Could All Use A Little More


The idea behind this blog was to share information I have and to promote my business. I wanted to keep it neutral. And I am a little scared to write about this because… it’s different. But if I am scared, it would make me a little more courageous if I wrote it anyway. I am stepping outside the box, out of my comfort zone, so here goes.

We could all use a little more:

Hugs. Some interesting facts about hugging:

  • If you give someone a hug and hold it for little while, it boosts serotonin levels, which makes us happy!
  • Hugging someone teaches us how to give and receive – sharing. And sharing is good.
  • It relaxes muscles and releases tension. It can even relieve pain by increasing circulation into our soft tissues.
  • A really, really good hug can boost oxytocin levels in us. And that gets rid of those feelings of being alone and even crankiness because oxytocin makes us feel calmer and less anxious.
  • Watching an awkward hug is kind of funny and can make us laugh which is always good. (made that one up myself)
  • It is also a positive form of communication. It expresses love, forgiveness, gratitude, and so on.

I Googled hugging. There is so much info out there; how to hug someone who is taller, how to hug someone who is smaller, how to hug a girl, the list is endless. Some of the results are entertaining. It’s worth a Google, or Bing.

Smiles. Here are some interesting facts about smiling:

  • Have you ever tried to smile when you’re really mad? Not a sarcastic smile or smirk. But a genuine smile. Soften your eyes and smile. It sends a message to your brain that you are happy so you get all these endorphins released into you. Try it next time you’re a little cranky.
  • Ever walk by a stranger and smile, perhaps even say hello? I do it all the time. Smiling is an expression right? An expression of your happiness, confidence, and it makes you feel good. When you smile at someone, chances are they are going to smile back. So you’re really spreading happiness.
  • Smiling helps us stay positive. I learned this during my anger management coaching days – try this fun test. Smile. Try and think about something negative without losing your smile. It’s pretty challenging.
  • People are drawn to those who smile.
  • Smiling is awesome. So Smile!

Quiet time, meditating, some call it silence – call it whatever. It can be done sitting down, sitting on a chair, lying down, on your knees even standing. Here is my method; Close your eyes. Focus on your breathing. Relax your shoulders and neck, your face muscles, your jaw. Visualize positivity in whatever form, release your barriers, and maybe even forgive. Relax and just breathe. We see new studies emerging every now and then on the actual physical benefits this practice can have on one’s life.

Lately, I have been caught up in growing my practice. And I love it. It’s such a great path for me. And I love sharing, learning, strategizing and creating plans that work with my clients. Also, my son is in Florida with his dad until the 13th – so I am missing out on all his hugs and smiles and our quiet time. I’ve been working a lot and I became a little unbalanced in the hugging and smiling and meditating department. I think it is so good to be aware of the benefits of these three things and how they can make such a positive change in all of our lives. Give it a try. Brighten someone’s day, and your own too!

Thank for reading my blog!

P.S. Stepping outside my comfort zone…and post!

We Could All Use A Little More

7 thoughts on “We Could All Use A Little More

  1. Pingback: Heat, Freezing Pillows, Air Conditioner Alternatives and Mental Health! Yee Haw It’s Hot! | Your Life Solutions

  2. Hi Season,

    Just wanted to give you some feedback on this entry. After reading this, I was talking with a friend at work, who also read your blog. Agter a couple of minutes I went back to work & so did she.

    About an hour later, I was waking by her desk & I hugs her ( not in a creep way, just a friendly way). She chucked and asked if was because I read your blog. Well the answer is yes I did & so did she.

    It’s been a couple of weeks since this blog post & it has almost become second nature for us to hug in the morning, when we first see each other. It just starts the day off right.

    Thank you for writing this blog & being you.

    S. MacWhit

    • Wow! That’s great! I’m so glad that what I write has a positive impact on people’s lives. I actually wrote this blog because of the amount of hugs I receive when I go out with friends. So thank you for sharing! 🙂 Yay!!!

  3. I’ve been exploring for a little bit for any high-quality articles or weblog posts on this sort of area . Exploring in Yahoo I ultimately stumbled upon this web site. Reading this information So i’m happy to
    exhibit that I have a very excellent uncanny feeling I came upon exactly what I needed.

    I most certainly will make certain to don?t overlook this
    site and give it a glance regularly.

    • Hi Harvey, thank you so so much. I’m glad that you first of all, were able to stumble on this page, and secondly, I’m super excited that the content I write was just what you needed. If you have any suggestions on what I should write about, shoot me an email. I’m glad you will be coming back. 🙂
      Season Truax.

Leave a Reply

