Luke! I am your father!


“Luke, I am your father!” Sure Darth Vader cut off Luke’s hand, but even he wanted to be a part of his son’s life – even if it was trying to convince Luke to go to the dark side.

This is my Father’s Day post. With a little “Your Life Solutions” twist on it. According to Statistics Canada, fathers today are more involved in their children’s lives than their fathers were. We are also seeing an increase in stay-at-home dads, single father homes and dads who are taking paternity leave. And one more interesting fact, the age of fathers is increasing.

The Government of Canada website stats show that fatherlessness is one of the greatest social problems in Canada. Children growing up in father absent households at a greater risk for experiencing a variety of behavioural and educational problems, including hyperactivity and withdrawal; lack of attentiveness in the classroom; difficulty with gratification; lessened academic achievement and so on. In fact, here are some actual stats on that.

  • 70% of incarcerated kids come from fatherless homes
  • 72% of “teenage murderers” are from fatherless homes
  • Kids from fatherless homes are twice as likely to quit school
  • Kids from fatherless homes are 11 times more likely to be violent
  • 80% of adolescents in psychiatric hospitals come from fatherless homes
  • 90% of runaways are from fatherless homes

Those are the facts. So, if your dad is actively and positively involved in your life – society thanks you! Now that the bad is out of the way, let’s leave you with the good.

  • Father love is AS IMPORTANT as mother love
  • Having an active father provides the child with greater financial resources
  • Having an active father in the home benefits our children as they tend to model behavior (both positive and negative) that they witness on a consistent basis
  • Having a father in the home enhances the child’s self-esteem and intellectual development
  • Enhances the child’s sense of physical and emotional security.
  • Having a father in the home lessens a child’s chances of becoming a teenage parent

I love doing the research that my blogs require. My aim is always to be fair, to not pick sides, to be neutral and factual. However, there are times when I like to add my opinion to the matter. My mom was, for the majority of my upbringing, a single mom. Raising children on your own is no easy task. Speaking from experience, being a single parent for about 10 years, I had to not only be a mom, but I had to be a dad too, as did my mother. So to all the single parents out there, all the dads and all the moms who are doing their best to raise their children as both a mom and a dad, thank you. And to my mom, I love you. Thanks for being a dad too and showing me that I can do anything. Happy Father’s Day!

2 thoughts on “Luke! I am your father!

  1. Pingback: A Single Mom’s (ok, Dad’s too) Summer Survival Guide Part 2; Now What? | Running Naked With Scissors

  2. Pingback: Just because he loves kids doesn't mean he will love YOUR kids - Wealthy Single Mommy

Leave a Reply

