Third Eye Kiss


Well, this one is gonna be a gooder. My son often kisses me on the forehead. Right smack dab in the middle of my forehead. Now, he is 12 years old, he is the sweetest boy, so any kiss from him is amazing. Mostly, he gives me a cheek kiss or I will kiss him on top of his head and then pinch his cheeks. But when he gives me the forehead smooch, it warms my heart and literally lifts up my spirits. I never really thought about why it made me feel light and happy and special. Like I was the only momma in the world who had a son sweet enough to give me a forehead kiss. A few days ago, I was exhausted. I was watching Orange is the New Black on Netflix. Just flopped on my bed, absolutely spent. My son walks in my room and plants a forehead kiss on me and bang! All of a sudden, I felt light, lifted and special. Weird…So I google it. Forehead Kiss. This is what I found:

When you purse your lips and press them against a forehead, (aka forehead kiss) it wakes up the pineal and pituitary glands. Because a forehead is rarely touched by another person, your senses are heightened whenever anyone else touches it. The lips are normally warmer than the rest of the face so that added heat plays a role too. Those two factors, (heightened senses, extra heated lips) awaken these two glands in our amazing brains. More specifically, the pineal and pituitary glands secrete melatonin and serotonin and dimethyltryptamine or DMT. DMT is just now being studied so I can’t really say too much about it as there is little scientific research out there and it is now being produced as a hallucinogenic drug that people are abusing. Anyway!!!! Melatonin and serotonin are responsible for sleep, meditative states, well-being, bliss and euphoria. So when someone gives you a forehead kiss, the senses are heightened, the heat from the lips and the light pressure of the kiss all combine to make that adorable smooch an amazing one! The pineal gland is said to be our “third eye” so I have adopted the term “Third Eye Kiss” whenever this special moment happens.

I told my daughter about this. I said, “you know Missi, Matt always gives me these little forehead kisses and I always feel super special when he does. I did some research and it turns out that when you get a forehead kiss, it makes you feel super because it releases melatonin and seratonin.” Without giving her a chance to respond, I say to Matt, “MATT! Come give your sister a Third Eye Kiss!” then I say back to Miss, “Missi, seriously, just let him. It’s so cool!” So my son gives my daughter a third eye kiss. Yup. My super tall 12 year old son leans down to my super not-tall 20 year old daughter and pushes her bangs aside and gives her a third eye kiss. Her eyes literally welled up with almost tears (eye sweat as she refers to them) and she said, “Awwww, that was so cute!” Right there, on the landing of the stairs. A moment like no other.

I write this blog because I am a life coach. I have been leaning toward the title of Success Coach lately as I am committed to the success of my clients. So why am I writing about a Third Eye Kiss, heated lips and hormones? Because I want you guys to be happy. I am doing this because I want my clients and the people who read this to be happier. And as cheesy as it sounds, I truly do want this world to be a better place. Maybe a parent will kiss their child on the forehead before they go to sleep. Maybe a boyfriend will kiss his girlfriend’s forehead and they won’t fight. If you can do something that makes someone else happier, wouldn’t you do it to? This isn’t really something we coach about. We aren’t kiss coaches. Lol. But we are life coaches. And we are here to coach you towards success. And love and affection and well-being are all part of success.

Anyway, thanks so much for reading my blog. Like, share and hire a life coach! Hire me! Yay Life Coaches!

Season

5 thoughts on “Third Eye Kiss

  1. I literally looked up forehead kisses also! So crazy, but anyways I’ve notice that when someone would give me a forehead kiss I instantly felt something. What did I feel? At first I didn’t know. One day my exboyfriend kissed me on the forehead, and I instantly just stayed in his arms. It puzzled me alot. To make a long story short I finally came to the conclusion that as a result of my daddy always kissing my forehead I instantly felt protected, safe, unafraid. This is the way I felt, just because my dad is who he is to me. So while off to college not receiving a forehead kiss in a while, the first one gave me that same feeling of protect as my daddy. 🙂 I knew it was something about the forehead kiss. Awesome.

    • Wow. First of all, thank you so much for sharing your story. The forehead kiss is pretty fantastic. I know it sounds cheesy but it warms my feelings and lifts my mood to read your comment. Yay!!! Even when I see someone giving someone else a third eye kiss or forehead kiss, it totally lifts my spirit. Again, thanks for sharing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

