Remember When?


There is no greater sorrow than to recall in misery the time when we were happy – Dante Alighieri

Dante Alighieri – Holy moly what a dude! Am I right ladies? Dante Alighieri earned what I like to call a “first or one name only famous” status. Like Cher, Sting, Bono, Mom, Madonna and so on. Dante was one of the greatest poets and writers of all time. And a smart fella – with quotes like this one.

We have all had amazing times in our lives. Periods of which, we wish would never end. Ones that we hope last forever. And then something happens and we are devastated when those times end. When this happens, all too often, we find ourselves in a state of sadness and for some, even bitterness. Some of us get stuck in a rut and don’t know how to get out of it. Some of us move forward but are still bitter or sad whenever we think of these amazing times in our lives. We think, “I wish we could go back in time…” or “It’s over, I am so sad.”

I have spent months and months developing a 6 week program designed to help us get out of that rut and to get us going in a different, forward moving direction. I have spent even more months fine tuning this program and have seen success in those who have completed it. Without giving too much away, and to be honest, I would love to be able to. I do have to make a living though. Anyway, without giving too much away, I am going to ring a bell for you. Warning once this bell has been rung, it can’t be undone..unrung…unrang? Whatever – you know what I mean.

It’s absolutely just what Dante said. There is no greater sorrow than to recall in misery the time when we were happy. Take a pro football player. He had an amazing high school football career and has moved up to the big leagues. Pro. His momma and dad are so proud. He was so proud of himself. And all those football parties and the girls and the wins and the training. It was his life. And it all ended when he blew out his knee. He can never play again. Not at the capacity needed to be successful as an NFL player. This is where you have a choice. You can look back at those times in misery and experience that sorrow that Dante was talking about. Or you can look at those times in fondness. Look back at those times as you would the birth of your children. A happy event or a happy time in your life. Why not right? Because something negative has happened to end your happy times, it doesn’t mean that the happiness was less happy or that it means less just because it’s over.

There is attention that needs to be paid to the event that happened to make all your happy times end. Is it fair that you blew out your knee? No. Of course not, but it’s happened and it sucks for sure. What if you could look back at those times and be happy for the experience and growth? After all, it’s not all of us that get to play in the NFL and you worked so hard to get there. What if you didn’t have to be sad anymore or resentful or bitter?

The fact is that you do have that choice. You absolutely can be happy for the growth and experience and not be sad every time you think about your successes. You just have to change your mind. It is your mind after all, no one else’s. It’s up to you what you want to do with it.

There is great happiness in recalling in happiness the times when we were happy – Season Truax

Thanks for reading my blog!

Season

PS.

I would like to wish a happy birthday to my grandma. She’s so cute. One time, she tried to kiss my boyfriend. He was flattered. My grandma made my mom and my mom is pretty awesome. My grandma has 2 flowers in her name. My grandma always took pride in her appearance. She’s old school like that. My grandma is funny and my grandma used to make me apple pies. And now I sometimes make apple pies. Her apple pies were the only pies I ate. My grandma used to work as a cook at a saw mill in Northern Alberta and used to let us “test” the chocolate pudding that she made in huge vats. My grandma loves George Strait. Even though he sings country music. My grandma is 81 and a day. My grandma is Violet Rose Gladu and she’s pretty. Happy birthday grandma! Lubba doo!

Leave a Reply

